About Inner Mongolia

Home> About Inner Mongolia

Alxa League


Alxa League is a league under Inner Mongolia’s administration. Located in the westernmost area of the Inner Mongolia autonomous region, it lies on the combination area of Hohhot, Baotou and Yinchuan economic zone, and borders Bayannur and Erdos to the east, Ningxia Hui autonomous region to the south, Gansu province to the west and Mongolia to the north. The border stretches 734.572 kilometers, with geographical coordinates of eastern longitude 97 ° 10 '~ 106 ° 53' and northern latitude 37 ° 24 '~ 42 ° 47'. The city has a total area of about 0.27 million square kilometers, accounting for 22.8 percent of the whole district.

By 2018, Alxa League had three banners, four autonomous region-level development zones, including a total of 31 Sumu towns and 199 Gacha villages. The permanent population is 249,400, an increase of 1,400 compared to 2017. The urban population is 195,600 and the rural population is 53,800, with 28 ethnic groups. 

In 2018, the GDP of Alxa League increased by 9.0 percent compared with that in 2017. Among them, the primary industry increased by 3.8 percent year on year; the secondary industry increased by 10.6 percent year on year, and the tertiary industry increased by 7.5 percent year on year.

The contribution rates of Alxa League’s primary, secondary and tertiary industries to GDP growth were 2.4 percent, 64.7 percent and 32.9 percent, respectively.